Project

General

Profile

01172018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Landon Gelman (Observer1)
  • Marisa March (Observer2/Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - TelOps

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58136, date 20180117, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:18 CLST     UT 18:18     SidTim 21:25
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   03:02   46 deg  
Moonset    21:15 CLST  00:15 UT   03:21   50 deg  
Eve. -10   21:35 CLST  00:35 UT   03:41   55 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:57 CLST  00:57 UT   04:03   61 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:20 CLST  01:20 UT   04:26   66 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:53 CLST  04:53 UT   07:59  120 deg  
Morn -18   05:27 CLST  08:27 UT   11:33  173 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:50 CLST  08:50 UT   11:56  179 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:12 CLST  09:12 UT   12:18  184 deg  
Sunrise    06:51 CLST  09:51 UT   12:57  194 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 312.3, Dec -16.6 Phase: 0.051

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: Clear skies, light airs
  • Forecast is to be clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: 0% expected
  • humidity: 54-59% expected
  • temp: ~ 12°C expected
  • wind: evening 4m/s, 1 m/s expected after sunset

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • Obstac: Tonight we expect to do X1, X2, X3r and WF

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
    Yzirg
UT Date = '2018/01/18 00:35'     Local time = 21:35
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
prompt> 
  • 1 midpoint standard
    ugrizY to assist second half observers
UT Date = '2018/01/18 04:53'     Local time = 01:53
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-X1    short    2018-01-11 01:01:37.251785+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-11 01:20:59.605860+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-11 01:53:15.234219+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-12 01:01:31.504913+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-01-12 01:22:01.309078+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-01-14 01:01:26.002505+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-14 01:35:34.375913+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-01-14 02:42:57.432113+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-01-14 03:02:21.354916+00:00
SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-15 01:29:21.843903+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-01-15 01:43:23.410783+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-17 00:57:02.927041+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps