Project

General

Profile

01172017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57040 (starting evening of Jan 17, 2015)

DES has the first half of the night. Switchover occurs at the midpoint of the night, which is at 01:53 CLST (04:53UT).

Observers

  • David Gerdes (run manager/observer 1)
  • Kathy Vivas (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez

Almanac

mjd 57040, date 20150117, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:10 CLST     UT 19:10     SidTim 22:15
Sunset     20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   SidTim   45 deg  
Eve. -10   21:35 CLST  00:35 UT   SidTim   55 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:57 CLST  00:57 UT   SidTim   60 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:20 CLST  01:20 UT   SidTim   66 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:53 CLST  04:53 UT   SidTim  120 deg  
Moonrise   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   SidTim  166 deg  
Morn -18   05:26 CLST  08:26 UT   SidTim  173 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:49 CLST  08:49 UT   SidTim  178 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:11 CLST  09:11 UT   SidTim  184 deg  
Sunrise    06:51 CLST  09:51 UT   SidTim  194 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 266.0, Dec -17.9 Phase: 0.209

Weather Conditions

Clear and hot. Light wind (5mph).

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • standards
  • Obstac, SNe X3z, C3z, and several shallow fields on deadman.
  • middle-of-night standard, then handover to community team