Project

General

Profile

01172014 - Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56675 (starting evening of Jan 17, 2014)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
David James Peter Nugent Claudio Bruderer
ext. 511 ext. 515 ext. 521

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Manuel Hernandez Alberto Alvarez

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56675, date 20140117, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 11:29 CLST     UT 14:29     SidTim 17:35
Sunset     20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   SidTim   46 deg  
Moonrise   21:34 CLST  00:34 UT   SidTim   55 deg  
Eve. -10   21:35 CLST  00:35 UT   SidTim   55 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:57 CLST  00:57 UT   SidTim   61 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:20 CLST  01:20 UT   SidTim   66 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:53 CLST  04:53 UT   SidTim  120 deg  
Morn -18   05:27 CLST  08:27 UT   SidTim  173 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:50 CLST  08:50 UT   SidTim  179 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:12 CLST  09:12 UT   SidTim  184 deg  
Sunrise    06:51 CLST  09:51 UT   SidTim  194 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 140.9, Dec 10.9 Phase: 0.893

Weather Conditions

Some cirrus clouds across the sky, also over the Blanco at the moment. Quite a few thick cumulus clouds far away towards the Northeast
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. End of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. Starflats (scripts listed below)
  8. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json
  1. Will fill in below after midday

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/18 00:35' Local time = 21:35
SDSSJ0000-0000 ra 00:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.0 DES_std_SDSSJ0000_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.5 DES_std_SDSSJ0100_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_SDSSJ0320_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/18 06:30' Local time = 03:30
E6-A ra 14:45:33 dec -45:15:34 secz 2.0 DES_std_e6a_grizY.json
SDSSJ1227-0000 ra 12:27:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.6 DES_std_SDSSJ1227_grizY.json
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_SDSSJ1048_grizY.json

Starflats MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
ra 13:27:00 dec -48:45:00 engineering_20140114/Starflat_i.json
ra 13:27:00 dec -48:45:00 engineering_20140114/Starflat_r.json
ra 13:27:00 dec -48:45:00 engineering_20140114/Starflat_g.json
ra 13:27:00 dec -48:45:00 engineering_20140114/Starflat_z.json
ra 13:27:00 dec -48:45:00 engineering_20140114/Starflat_Y.json
ra 07:30:00 dec -50:00:00 engineering_20140114/Starflat_i.json
ra 07:30:00 dec -50:00:00 engineering_20140114/Starflat_r.json
ra 07:30:00 dec -50:00:00 engineering_20140114/Starflat_g.json
ra 07:30:00 dec -50:00:00 engineering_20140114/Starflat_z.json
ra 07:30:00 dec -50:00:00 engineering_20140114/Starflat_Y.json