Project

General

Profile

01162018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Landon Gelman (Observer1)
  • Marisa March (Observer2/Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - TelOps

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58135, date 20180116, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:56 CLST     UT 17:56     SidTim 20:59
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   02:58   44 deg  
Eve. -10   21:35 CLST  00:35 UT   03:38   54 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:57 CLST  00:57 UT   04:00   60 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:21 CLST  01:21 UT   04:23   66 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:53 CLST  04:53 UT   07:55  119 deg  
Morn -18   05:25 CLST  08:25 UT   11:28  172 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:49 CLST  08:49 UT   11:51  178 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:11 CLST  09:11 UT   12:13  183 deg  
Sunrise    06:50 CLST  09:50 UT   12:52  193 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 300.0, Dec -18.4 Phase: 0.012

Weather Conditions

  • at lunch: Clear skies, light airs
  • Forecast is to be clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: 0% expected
  • humidity: ~60% expected
  • temp: ~ 11°C expected
  • wind: 1 m/s expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg) (Second half observers may request u-band standards - what's the deal?)
  • Obstac: SN, WF

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
UT Date = '2018/01/17 00:35'     Local time = 21:35
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 midpoint standard
UT Date = '2018/01/17 04:53'     Local time = 01:53
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.8

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-10 01:00:56.374994+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-11 01:01:37.251785+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-11 01:20:59.605860+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-11 01:53:15.234219+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-12 01:01:31.504913+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-01-12 01:22:01.309078+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-01-14 01:01:26.002505+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-14 01:35:34.375913+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-01-14 02:42:57.432113+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-01-14 03:02:21.354916+00:00
SN-E1    short    2018-01-15 01:08:05.835460+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-15 01:29:21.843903+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-01-15 01:43:23.410783+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-15 02:17:19.554010+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-16 00:59:34.787393+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-16 02:08:01.691914+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps