Project

General

Profile

01152015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57037 (starting evening of Jan 15, 2015)

DES has the first half of the night. Switchover occurs at the midpoint of the night, which is at 01:53 CLST (04:53UT).

Observers

  • Kathy Vivas (observer 1)
  • David Gerdes (run manager/observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez

Almanac

mjd 57038, date 20150115, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 19:53 CLST     UT 22:53     SidTim 01:50
Sunset     20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   SidTim   43 deg  
Eve. -10   21:36 CLST  00:36 UT   SidTim   53 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:58 CLST  00:58 UT   SidTim   59 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:21 CLST  01:21 UT   SidTim   64 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:53 CLST  04:53 UT   SidTim  118 deg  
Moonrise   03:14 CLST  06:14 UT   SidTim  138 deg  
Morn -18   05:24 CLST  08:24 UT   SidTim  170 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:47 CLST  08:47 UT   SidTim  176 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:09 CLST  09:09 UT   SidTim  182 deg  
Sunrise    06:49 CLST  09:49 UT   SidTim  192 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 237.6, Dec -15.7 Phase: 0.353

Weather Conditions

Clear and hot. Light wind (5mph).

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • standards:
    UT Date = '2015/01/16 00:36'     Local time = 21:36
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Script from Eric to cover equatorial fields that are setting
  • obsTac - wide survey, no SN fields on deadman
  • standards:
    UT Date = '2015/01/16 04:43'     Local time = 01:43
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2