Project

General

Profile

01142018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Ross Cawthon (Observer1)
  • Spencer Everett (Observer2/Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - TelOps

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58133, date 20180114, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   02:50   42 deg  
Eve. -10   21:36 CLST  00:36 UT   03:30   52 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:58 CLST  00:58 UT   03:52   58 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:21 CLST  01:21 UT   04:16   64 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:52 CLST  04:52 UT   07:47  117 deg  
Morn -18   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   11:18  170 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Moonrise   05:43 CLST  08:43 UT   11:38  174 deg  
Morn -14   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   11:41  175 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:09 CLST  09:09 UT   12:03  181 deg  
Sunrise    06:48 CLST  09:48 UT   12:43  191 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 275.1, Dec -19.3 Phase: 0.139

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: Clear skies, couple clouds in the distance
  • at sunset: Clear
  • Forecast is to clear up

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: 0% expected
  • humidity: ~80% expected
  • temp: ~ 10°C expected
  • wind: 3 m/s expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • AT2017iuw after standards
  • Obstac: SN, WF

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
UT Date = '2018/01/15 3:30'     Local time = 00:30
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 midpoint standard
UT Date = '2018/01/15 04:42'     Local time = 01:42
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here


hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-E1    short    2018-01-07 01:05:18.959843+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-08 04:04:59.895995+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-09 01:09:00.719764+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-01-09 01:30:01.516122+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-10 01:00:56.374994+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-11 01:01:37.251785+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-11 01:20:59.605860+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-11 01:40:16.746278+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-11 01:53:15.234219+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-11 02:16:34.995827+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-12 01:01:31.504913+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-01-12 01:22:01.309078+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-01-14 01:01:26.002505+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-14 01:35:34.375913+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-01-14 02:42:57.432113+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-01-14 03:02:21.354916+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps