Project

General

Profile

01132018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Spencer Everett (Observer1)
  • Ross Cawthon (Observer2/Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - TelOps

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58132, date 20180113, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   02:47   42 deg  
Eve. -10   21:36 CLST  00:36 UT   03:27   52 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:58 CLST  00:58 UT   03:49   57 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:22 CLST  01:22 UT   04:12   63 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:52 CLST  04:52 UT   07:42  116 deg  
Moonrise   04:58 CLST  07:58 UT   10:48  162 deg  
Morn -18   05:22 CLST  08:22 UT   11:12  168 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:45 CLST  08:45 UT   11:36  174 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:08 CLST  09:08 UT   11:58  180 deg  
Sunrise    06:48 CLST  09:48 UT   12:38  190 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 262.7, Dec -18.4 Phase: 0.202

h3. Weather Conditions

* at 4pm:  Scattered clouds fairly overhead
* at sunset: mostly clear, some clouds on the horizon
* Forecast is to clear up
> "as predicted by hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html

* clouds: 0% expected
* humidity: ~75% expected
* temp: ~ 12°C expected
* wind: 1 m/s expected

h3. Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

* First half DES, second half non-DES
* Evening standards (Yzirgu)
* Obstac: SN, WF

> forgotten how to do this? Use standards with "kentools":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Introduction_to_kentools

* 3 Evening standards

<pre>
UT Date = '2018/01/14 00:36'     Local time = 21:36
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
</pre>

* 1 midpoint standard

<pre>
UT Date = '2018/01/14 04:45'     Local time = 01:45
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
</pre>

h3. When were the last SN fields observed?

> forgotten how to do this? "Instructions here":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed

<pre>
hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-06 03:20:36.126637+00:00
SN-E1    short    2018-01-07 01:05:18.959843+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-01-07 02:33:55.507283+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-08 04:04:59.895995+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-09 01:09:00.719764+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-01-09 01:30:01.516122+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-10 01:00:56.374994+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-11 01:01:37.251785+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-11 01:20:59.605860+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-11 01:40:16.746278+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-11 01:53:15.234219+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-11 02:16:34.995827+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-12 01:01:31.504913+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-01-12 01:22:01.309078+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-01-12 03:03:14.856838+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-01-13 04:12:34.272957+00:00

</pre>

h3. Useful links

"Nightsum":http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/ | "CTIO Night Report":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/noao/node/add/night-report | "DECam Logbook":http://system1.ctio.noao.edu:8080/ECL/decam/E/index
"Tololo Environmental Web Page":http://139.229.115.231/web/tololo_frame.html | "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php