Project

General

Profile

01122018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Ross Cawthon (Observer1/Run Manager)
  • Spencer Everett (Observer2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - TelOps

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58131, date 20180112, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   02:43   41 deg  
Eve. -10   21:36 CLST  00:36 UT   03:23   51 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:59 CLST  00:59 UT   03:45   56 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:22 CLST  01:22 UT   04:09   62 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:52 CLST  04:52 UT   07:38  114 deg  
Moonrise   04:15 CLST  07:15 UT   10:02  150 deg  
Morn -18   05:21 CLST  08:21 UT   11:07  167 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:44 CLST  08:44 UT   11:31  173 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:07 CLST  09:07 UT   11:53  178 deg  
Sunrise    06:47 CLST  09:47 UT   12:33  188 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 250.5, Dec -16.8 Phase: 0.264

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: Quite cloudy
  • at sunset:
  • Forecast is to very cloudy

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: 100% expected
  • humidity: ~75% expected
  • temp: ~ 11°C expected
  • wind: 1 mph expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • Obstac: SN, WF

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
UT Date = '2018/01/13 00:36'     Local time = 21:36
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 midpoint standard
UT Date = '2018/01/13 04:45'     Local time = 01:45
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-06 03:20:36.126637+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-01-06 04:28:02.317808+00:00
SN-E1    short    2018-01-07 01:05:18.959843+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-01-07 02:33:55.507283+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-08 04:04:59.895995+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-09 01:09:00.719764+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-01-09 01:30:01.516122+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-10 01:00:56.374994+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-11 01:01:37.251785+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-11 01:20:59.605860+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-11 01:40:16.746278+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-11 01:53:15.234219+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-11 02:16:34.995827+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-12 01:01:31.504913+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-01-12 01:22:01.309078+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-01-12 03:05:23.176031+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps