Project

General

Profile

01112018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Ross Cawthon (Observer1/Run Manager)
  • Spencer Everett (Observer2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - TelOps

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58130, date 20180111, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:54 CLST     UT 18:54     SidTim 21:37
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:57 CLST  23:57 UT   02:39   40 deg  
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   03:19   50 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:59 CLST  00:59 UT   03:41   55 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:22 CLST  01:22 UT   04:05   61 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:51 CLST  04:51 UT   07:34  114 deg  
Moonrise   03:36 CLST  06:36 UT   09:18  140 deg  
Morn -18   05:20 CLST  08:20 UT   11:02  166 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:43 CLST  08:43 UT   11:26  172 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:06 CLST  09:06 UT   11:48  177 deg  
Sunrise    06:46 CLST  09:46 UT   12:28  187 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 238.5, Dec -14.4 Phase: 0.324

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: Some wispy clouds overhead, larger clouds to North and East
  • at sunset:
  • Forecast is to very cloudy

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: 90% expected
  • humidity: ~70% expected
  • temp: ~ 12°C expected
  • wind: 1 mph expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • Obstac: SN, WF

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
UT Date = '2018/01/12 00:37'     Local time = 21:37
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 midpoint standard
UT Date = '2018/01/12 04:44'     Local time = 01:44
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-S1    short    2018-01-05 01:03:30.237750+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-01-06 02:23:06.560239+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-01-06 02:46:19.736243+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-06 03:20:36.126637+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-01-06 04:28:02.317808+00:00
SN-E1    short    2018-01-07 01:05:18.959843+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-01-07 02:33:55.507283+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-08 04:04:59.895995+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-09 01:09:00.719764+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-01-09 01:30:01.516122+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-10 01:00:56.374994+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-11 01:01:37.251785+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-11 01:20:59.605860+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-11 01:40:16.746278+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-11 01:53:15.234219+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-11 02:16:34.995827+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps