Project

General

Profile

01112014 - Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56669 (starting evening of Jan 11, 2014)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Claudio Bruderer Kathy Romer Philip Rooney
ext. 521 ext. 520 ext. 517

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Hernan Claudio

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56669, date 20140111, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 11:25 CLST     UT 14:25     SidTim 17:08
Sunset     20:57 CLST  23:57 UT   SidTim   40 deg  
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   SidTim   50 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:59 CLST  00:59 UT   SidTim   55 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:22 CLST  01:22 UT   SidTim   61 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:51 CLST  04:51 UT   SidTim  114 deg  
Moonset    04:02 CLST  07:02 UT   SidTim  146 deg  
Morn -18   05:20 CLST  08:20 UT   SidTim  166 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:43 CLST  08:43 UT   SidTim  172 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:06 CLST  09:06 UT   SidTim  177 deg  
Sunrise    06:46 CLST  09:46 UT   SidTim  187 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 66.4, Dec 19.5 Phase: 0.730

Weather Conditions

No clouds can be seen. There is a bit of haze in the north though.
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. End of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json
  1. Will fill in below after midday

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/12 00:37' Local time = 21:37
SDSSJ0000-0000 ra 00:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.8 DES_std_SDSSJ0000_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 DES_std_SDSSJ0100_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_SDSSJ0320_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/12 04:40' Local time = 01:40
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.8 DES_std_SDSSJ1048_grizY.json