Project

General

Profile

01102018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Spencer Everett (Observer1)
  • Ross Cawthon (Observer2/Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - TelOps

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58129, date 20180110, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:50 CLST     UT 18:50     SidTim 21:28
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:57 CLST  23:57 UT   02:35   39 deg  
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   03:15   49 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:59 CLST  00:59 UT   03:38   54 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:23 CLST  01:23 UT   04:01   60 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:51 CLST  04:51 UT   07:29  112 deg  
Moonrise   02:58 CLST  05:58 UT   08:37  129 deg  
Morn -18   05:19 CLST  08:19 UT   10:57  164 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:42 CLST  08:42 UT   11:21  170 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:05 CLST  09:05 UT   11:43  176 deg  
Sunrise    06:45 CLST  09:45 UT   12:24  186 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 226.6, Dec -11.3 Phase: 0.383

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: Clear overhead, some clouds on the horizon to South and East/Northeast
  • at sunset: Clear overhead, some notable clouds on the horizon particularly to the South
  • Forecast is to be perfectly clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: None expected
  • humidity: ~ 65-70% expected
  • temp: ~ 12°C expected
  • wind: 1 mph expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • Obstac: SN, WF

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
UT Date = '2018/01/11 00:37'     Local time = 21:37
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 midpoint standard
UT Date = '2018/01/11 04:44'     Local time = 01:44
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-04 01:13:47.956719+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-04 01:26:51.132492+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-04 02:05:09.632821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-04 02:24:35.274427+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-04 02:44:24.054685+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-05 01:03:30.237750+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-01-06 02:23:06.560239+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-01-06 02:46:19.736243+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-06 03:20:36.126637+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-01-06 04:28:02.317808+00:00
SN-E1    short    2018-01-07 01:05:18.959843+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-01-07 02:33:55.507283+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-08 04:04:59.895995+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-09 01:09:00.719764+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-01-09 01:30:01.516122+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2018-01-10 01:00:56.374994+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps