Project

General

Profile

01102017
h2. Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58027 (starting evening of September 30, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Sahar Allam (run manager, observer 2)
  • Douglas Tucker (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac


mjd 58028, date 20171001, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 17:41 CLST     UT 20:41     SidTim 16:41
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:51 CLST  22:51 UT   18:52  283 deg
Eve. -10   20:26 CLST  23:26 UT   19:27  292 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:45 CLST  23:45 UT   19:46  296 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:04 CLST  00:04 UT   20:05  301 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:32 CLST  04:32 UT   00:32    8 deg
Moonset    05:24 CLST  08:24 UT   04:25   66 deg
Morn -18   06:00 CLST  09:00 UT   05:00   75 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:18 CLST  09:18 UT   05:18   80 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:38 CLST  09:38 UT   05:38   84 deg
Sunrise    07:13 CLST  10:13 UT   06:13   93 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 326.5, Dec -13.1 Phase: 0.760

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirg), (in case of u-band observations please use Yzirgu)
    UT Date = '2017/10/01 23:45'     Local time = 20:45
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
    E9-A                  ra 22:45:37  dec -44:22:47  secz 1.3
    E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.0
    
  • Obstac
  • TOO at 9:30UT (36 minutes, sans slew)
  • Low-z SN just before standards (5 minutes, sans slew).
    • Precedence: Normal SN > low-z SN > standard stars
  • Morning standards, (grizY) (in case of u-band observations please use ugrizY)
    
    UT Date = '2017/10/02 09:18'     Local time = 06:18
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
    

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)


hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-C2    short     2017-09-23 04:46:04.179114+00:00
SN-C1    short     2017-09-23 05:02:33.863254+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-09-25 04:02:23.181664+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-09-25 04:37:16.584066+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-09-25 04:50:20.212861+00:00
SN-S1    short     2017-09-25 06:59:11.256632+00:00
SN-E1    short     2017-09-29 00:54:52.068500+00:00
SN-E2    short     2017-09-30 01:04:05.144414+00:00
SN-X1    short     2017-09-30 03:34:59.535754+00:00
SN-X2    short     2017-09-30 03:54:29.071906+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-09-30 04:12:17.783310+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-09-30 04:27:05.420019+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-09-30 04:50:38.396740+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-09-30 05:59:22.774338+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-09-30 06:31:43.794323+00:00
SN-S2    short     2017-09-30 09:04:32.147055+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps