Project

General

Profile

01102014 - Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56668 (starting evening of Jan 10, 2014)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Claudio Bruderer Kathy Romer Philip Rooney
ext. 521 ext. 520 ext. 517

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Hernan Claudio

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56668, date 20140110, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 11:22 CLST     UT 14:22     SidTim 17:00
Sunset     20:57 CLST  23:57 UT   SidTim   39 deg  
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   SidTim   49 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:59 CLST  00:59 UT   SidTim   54 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:23 CLST  01:23 UT   SidTim   60 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:51 CLST  04:51 UT   SidTim  112 deg  
Moonset    03:17 CLST  06:17 UT   SidTim  134 deg  
Morn -18   05:19 CLST  08:19 UT   SidTim  164 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:42 CLST  08:42 UT   SidTim  170 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:05 CLST  09:05 UT   SidTim  176 deg  
Sunrise    06:45 CLST  09:45 UT   SidTim  186 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 53.6, Dec 18.1 Phase: 0.664

Weather Conditions

Map shows a few clouds around la serena. A few sparse clouds overhead on horizon, before nearest hills but not over blanco.
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. End of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json
  1. Will fill in below after midday

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/11 00:37' Local time = 21:37
SDSSJ0000-0000 ra 00:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.8 DES_std_SDSSJ0000_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 DES_std_SDSSJ0100_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_SDSSJ0320_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/11 04:35' Local time = 01:35
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.9 DES_std_SDSSJ1048_grizY.json