Project

General

Profile

01092018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Spencer Everett (Observer1)
  • Ross Cawthon (Observer2/Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - TelOps

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58128, date 20180109, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:42 CLST     UT 18:42     SidTim 21:17
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:57 CLST  23:57 UT   02:31   38 deg  
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   03:11   48 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:59 CLST  00:59 UT   03:34   54 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:23 CLST  01:23 UT   03:58   60 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:50 CLST  04:50 UT   07:25  111 deg  
Moonrise   02:23 CLST  05:23 UT   07:57  119 deg  
Morn -18   05:18 CLST  08:18 UT   10:52  163 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:41 CLST  08:41 UT   11:16  169 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:04 CLST  09:04 UT   11:39  175 deg  
Sunrise    06:44 CLST  09:44 UT   12:19  185 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 214.8, Dec -7.7 Phase: 0.442

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: Clear overhead with clouds on horizon (South and East)
  • at sunset: Clear overhead, some distant spotty clouds on horizon in all directions
  • Forecast is to be perfectly clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: None expected
  • humidity: ~ 60-65% expected
  • temp: ~ 13°C expected
  • wind: 1 mph expected

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half non-DES
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • Obstac: SN, WF

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
UT Date = '2018/01/10 00:37'     Local time = 21:37
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 midpoint standard
UT Date = '2018/01/10 04:43'     Local time = 01:43
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-X3    long_z    2017-12-31 01:41:39.091440+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-04 01:13:47.956719+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-04 01:26:51.132492+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-04 02:05:09.632821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-04 02:24:35.274427+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-04 02:44:24.054685+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-05 01:03:30.237750+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-01-06 02:23:06.560239+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-01-06 02:46:19.736243+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-06 03:20:36.126637+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-01-06 04:28:02.317808+00:00
SN-E1    short    2018-01-07 01:05:18.959843+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-01-07 02:33:55.507283+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-08 04:04:59.895995+00:00
SN-E2    short    2018-01-09 01:09:00.719764+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2018-01-09 01:30:01.516122+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps