Project

General

Profile

01092017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57763 (starting evening of Jan 9, 2017)

Half night

Observers

  • Chihway Chang (Obs 2)
  • Rutuparna Das (Obs 1, RM)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Rodrigo Hernández
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57763, date 20170109, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:42 CLST     UT 18:42     SidTim 21:17
Sunset     20:57 CLST  23:57 UT   SidTim   38 deg  
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   SidTim   48 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:59 CLST  00:59 UT   SidTim   54 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:23 CLST  01:23 UT   SidTim   60 deg  Last chance standards

Start midpoint standards at 4:43 UT

Midpoint   01:50 CLST  04:50 UT   SidTim  112 deg  TURNOVER
Moonset    04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   SidTim  159 deg  
Morn -18   05:18 CLST  08:18 UT   SidTim  164 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:42 CLST  08:42 UT   SidTim  169 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:04 CLST  09:04 UT   SidTim  175 deg  
Sunrise    06:44 CLST  09:44 UT   SidTim  185 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 77.9, Dec 18.7 Phase: 0.801

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

* Evening standards (using calspec): Yzirg

UT Date = '2017/01/10 00:37'     Local time = 21:37
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
WD0308-565_CCD_62     ra 03:09:48  dec -56:18:49  secz 1.1
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

* widefield json script - directly after standards, not to exceed 1:08UTC
* Obstac - SN until fields set, then widefield

* Half Night standards (using calspec) use only 1 (highest airmass): grizY

UT Date = '2017/01/10 4:43'     Local time = 01:43
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-X1    short    2017-01-03 01:13:25.617552+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-01-03 01:32:48.579368+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-01-03 01:52:21.713952+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-01-03 02:11:54.862339+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-01-03 02:25:06.638578+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-01-03 02:47:17.842371+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-01-03 03:21:58.724963+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-01-03 03:45:03.581351+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-01-04 01:10:14.231436+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-01-04 02:45:41.910290+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-01-06 01:31:13.849313+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-01-07 01:12:38.257603+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-01-08 01:18:26.476137+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-01-08 01:37:52.236384+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-01-08 01:58:09.723355+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-01-09 01:30:36.947901+00:00

Notes from 4pm meeting