Project

General

Profile

01092016 » History » Version 4

Version 3 (Vinu Vikraman, 01/09/2016 05:19 PM) → Version 4/5 (Vinu Vikraman, 01/09/2016 08:57 PM)

h1. Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57397 (starting evening of 2016/01/09)

DES (2012B-0001)

h2. Observers

* Ana Isabel Salvador (Observer 1 / RM)
* Vinu Vikraman (Observer 2)

"Shift list":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/DESShiftsYr4

h2. CTIO Staff

* Hernan Tirado
* Carlos Corco

"Staff calendar":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/cgi-bin/Calcium38.pl?Op=ShowIt&CalendarName=4m_Observing_Schedule

h2. Almanac

<pre>
mjd 57397, date 20160109, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 19:46 CLST UT 22:46 SidTim 01:18
Sunset 20:57 CLST 23:57 UT SidTim 37 deg
Eve. -10 21:37 CLST 00:37 UT SidTim 47 deg Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14 21:59 CLST 00:59 UT SidTim 53 deg Begin obstac
Eve. -18 22:23 CLST 01:23 UT SidTim 59 deg Last chance standards
Midpoint 01:50 CLST 04:50 UT SidTim 111 deg
Morn -18 05:17 CLST 08:17 UT SidTim 162 deg Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std 05:41 CLST 08:41 UT SidTim 168 deg End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10 06:03 CLST 09:03 UT SidTim 174 deg
Sunrise 06:44 CLST 09:44 UT SidTim 184 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 292.1, Dec -16.6 Phase: 0.013

</pre>

h2. Weather Conditions

* Photometric.
* Clear night

* "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satelite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php

h2. Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

* evening standards (if clear) [Yzirg ordered scripts]

<pre>
UT Date = '2016/01/10 00:37' Local time = 21:37
SDSSJ0000-0000 ra 00:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.7
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2

</pre>

* Obstac.

* middle of the night standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]

<pre>
UT Date = '2016/01/10 04:30' Local time = 01:30
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.1
MaxVis ra 06:30:00 dec -58:45:00 secz 1.1

</pre>

h2. Notes from the 4PM Meeting and Additional Comments.

Nothing



h2. Notes from Observers

1. A minor point: The quick reduce PSF tab has two right hand bars which show FWHM and Ellipticities using some filters. However, those color codes don't match with the original plots. E.g. u-filter is shown as 'green' but it should be 'blue' Nothing
2. Another minor point: Some discrepancies between RASICAM on web server (http://rasicam.ctio.noao.edu/RASICAMWebService/static/RASICAMwebService.html) and when using the command rasicam.sh in the terminal, especially, when plotting the position of the Blanco field of view. I checked whether it is the problem with the UT time, but it doesn't.