Project

General

Profile

01082019 » History » Version 2

« Previous - Version 2/8 (diff) - Next » - Current version
Klaus Honscheid, 01/08/2019 04:30 PM


01082019

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58490 (starting the evening of Jan 7, 2019)

Observers

  • Klaus Honscheid (Observer 1)
  • Brenna Flaugher (Observer 2)
  • Marcelle Soares-Santos (Run Manager)
  • Tom Diehl (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58492, date 20190108, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 19:14 CLST     UT 22:14     SidTim 00:44
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:57 CLST  23:57 UT   02:26   36 deg  
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   03:07   47 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:59 CLST  00:59 UT   03:29   52 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:23 CLST  01:23 UT   03:53   58 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    22:45 CLST  01:45 UT   04:15   64 deg  
Midpoint   01:50 CLST  04:50 UT   07:20  110 deg  
Morn -18   05:17 CLST  08:17 UT   10:46  162 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:40 CLST  08:40 UT   11:10  168 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:03 CLST  09:03 UT   11:33  173 deg  
Sunrise    06:43 CLST  09:43 UT   12:13  183 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 325.3, Dec -15.5 Phase: 0.182

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan

  • DES Half night
  • Evening standards
    prompt> standards 00:37
    UT Date = '2019/01/09 00:37'     Local time = 21:37
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • If seeing is better than 1.4 arcsec:
  • Start with Alhambra Deep 2 in z, i.
  • At 2:45 UT (~ 1.5 airmasses), clear any remaining exposures and do: MACSJ0416_z_2.json
  • When that finishes, load the "redo" script: Jan07_redo_3.json (SISPI will probably skip a bunch of exposures if this is started after 3:00 UT)
  • If the seeing is is worse than 1.4 arcsec for more than a few exposures
  • Stop Alhambra/MACSJ sequence, clear queue and run obstac if it is before 3:00 UT.
  • At (or after) 3:00 UT, run the redo script: Jan07_redo_3.json
  • scripts are located at /usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts/
  • Midpoint standards
    prompt> standards 04:40
    UT Date = '2019/01/09 04:40'     Local time = 01:40
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
    MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting