Project

General

Profile

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57396 (starting evening of 2016/01/08)

DES (2012B-0001)

Observers

  • Vinu Vikraman (Observer 1)
  • Ana Isabel Salvador (Observer 2 / RM)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado
  • Carlos Corco

Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57396, date 20160108, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 17:01 CLST     UT 20:01     SidTim 22:30
Sunset     20:57 CLST  23:57 UT   SidTim   36 deg  
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   SidTim   46 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   22:00 CLST  01:00 UT   SidTim   52 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:23 CLST  01:23 UT   SidTim   58 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:50 CLST  04:50 UT   SidTim  110 deg  
Morn -18   05:16 CLST  08:16 UT   SidTim  161 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:40 CLST  08:40 UT   SidTim  167 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:03 CLST  09:03 UT   SidTim  173 deg  
Moonrise   06:29 CLST  09:29 UT   SidTim  180 deg  
Sunrise    06:43 CLST  09:43 UT   SidTim  183 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 278.1, Dec -17.6 Phase: 0.085

Weather Conditions

  • Photometric.
  • Clear night
  • Windscreen up, sliding doors closed

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • evening standards [Yzirg ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2016/01/09 00:37' Local time = 21:37
    SDSSJ0000-0000 ra 00:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.7
    SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2
  • 4 SN on deadman. E2, X2, X3i, S2. That takes us to about 2:30.
  • GW TOO, which should take abobut 20 minutes.
  • Then Obstac.
  • middle-of-night standards [grizY ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2016/01/09 04:30' Local time = 01:30
    SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.0
    MaxVis ra 06:30:00 dec -58:45:00 secz 1.1

Notes from the 4PM Meeting and Additional Comments.