Project

General

Profile

01072019

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58489 (starting the evening of Jan 6, 2019)

Observers

  • Marcelle Soares-Santos (Observer 1)
  • Zhouwen Zh Zhang (Observer 2)
  • Andresa Campos (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58491, date 20190107, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:53 CLST     UT 18:53     SidTim 21:18
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:57 CLST  23:57 UT   02:22   36 deg  
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   03:03   46 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   22:00 CLST  01:00 UT   03:25   51 deg  Begin obstac
Moonset    22:06 CLST  01:06 UT   03:32   53 deg  
Eve. -18   22:23 CLST  01:23 UT   03:49   57 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:49 CLST  04:49 UT   07:15  109 deg  
Morn -18   05:16 CLST  08:16 UT   10:41  160 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:39 CLST  08:39 UT   11:05  166 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:02 CLST  09:02 UT   11:28  172 deg  
Sunrise    06:42 CLST  09:42 UT   12:08  182 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 313.4, Dec -18.1 Phase: 0.120

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan

  • DES Half night
  • Evening standards
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • If seeing is better than 1.2", start with Alhambra Deep 2 in z, i.
  • At 2:45 UT (~ 1.5 airmasses), clear any remaining exposures and do: MACSJ0416_z_2.json
  • When that finishes, load the "redo" script: Jan07_redo_3.json (SISPI will probably skip a bunch of exposures if this is started after 3:00 UT)
  • If the seeing is is worse than 1.2" for more than a few exposures, run obstac if it is before 3:00 UT.
  • At (or after) 3:00 UT, run the redo script: Jan07_redo_3.json
  • scripts are located at /usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts/
  • One Midpoint standards
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting