Project

General

Profile

01072018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Darren DePoy (Observer1)
  • Travis Prochaska (Observer2)
  • Jen Marshall (Run Manager)

Remote Support
  • Kathy Vivas (DECal engineering)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera, Jackie Seron - TelOps
  • Javier Rojas - engineering support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58126, date 20180107, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 19:57 CLST     UT 22:57     SidTim 01:24
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:57 CLST  23:57 UT   02:23   36 deg  
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   03:04   46 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   22:00 CLST  01:00 UT   03:26   52 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:23 CLST  01:23 UT   03:50   58 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   01:13 CLST  04:13 UT   06:40  100 deg  
Midpoint   01:50 CLST  04:50 UT   07:16  109 deg  
Morn -18   05:16 CLST  08:16 UT   10:42  160 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:39 CLST  08:39 UT   11:06  166 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:02 CLST  09:02 UT   11:29  172 deg  
Sunrise    06:42 CLST  09:42 UT   12:09  182 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 190.9, Dec 0.8 Phase: 0.562

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: Clear with clouds on horizon
  • at sunset: clouds moving overhead

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: Cloudy first half, then clearing
  • humidity: ~ 70%
  • temp: ~ 12°C
  • wind: 1 mph

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half DECal engineering
  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • Yes low-z SN iuw

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
UT Date = '2018/01/08 00:37'     Local time = 21:37
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 Midpoint standards
UT Date = '2018/01/08 01:50'     Local time = 22:50
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-E2    short    2017-12-30 01:32:07.877484+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-12-31 01:07:29.678521+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-12-31 01:41:39.091440+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-04 01:13:47.956719+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-04 01:26:51.132492+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-04 01:50:49.896521+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-04 02:05:09.632821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-04 02:24:35.274427+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-04 02:44:24.054685+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-05 01:03:30.237750+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-01-06 02:23:06.560239+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-01-06 02:46:19.736243+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-06 03:20:36.126637+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-01-06 04:28:02.317808+00:00
SN-E1    short    2018-01-07 01:05:18.959843+00:00
SN-C2    short    2018-01-07 02:33:55.507283+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps