Project

General

Profile

01072017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57761 (starting evening of Jan 7, 2017)

Half night

Observers

  • Chihway Chang (Obs 2)
  • Rutuparna Das (Obs 1, RM)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Rodrigo Hernandez
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57761, date 20170107, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:11 CLST     UT 19:11     SidTim 21:39
Sunset     20:57 CLST  23:57 UT   SidTim   36 deg  
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   SidTim   46 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   22:00 CLST  01:00 UT   SidTim   52 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:23 CLST  01:23 UT   SidTim   58 deg  Last chance standards

Start midpoint standards at 4:43 UT

Midpoint   01:50 CLST  04:50 UT   SidTim  109 deg  TURNOVER
Moonset    03:16 CLST  06:16 UT   SidTim  131 deg  
Morn -18   05:16 CLST  08:16 UT   SidTim  161 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:40 CLST  08:40 UT   SidTim  167 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:02 CLST  09:02 UT   SidTim  172 deg  
Sunrise    06:43 CLST  09:43 UT   SidTim  182 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 47.6, Dec 13.4 Phase: 0.646

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (using calspec): Yzirg
UT Date = '2017/01/08 00:37'     Local time = 21:37
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
C26202_CCD_35         ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.0
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Tiling catch20170107 - json file for Wide field
  • Run Obstac
    • SN fields - X3-ri
    • wide field as usual
  • Half Night standards (using calspec) use only 1 (highest airmass): grizY
UT Date = '2017/01/08 4:43'     Local time = 01:43
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.5
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-X3    long_r    2016-12-30 02:04:10.767721+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2016-12-30 02:44:01.809491+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-01-03 01:13:25.617552+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-01-03 01:32:48.579368+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-01-03 01:52:21.713952+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-01-03 02:11:54.862339+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-01-03 02:25:06.638578+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-01-03 02:47:17.842371+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-01-03 03:02:37.573628+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-01-03 03:21:58.724963+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-01-03 03:45:03.581351+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-01-03 04:24:32.965397+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-01-04 01:10:14.231436+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-01-04 02:45:41.910290+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-01-06 01:31:13.849313+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-01-07 01:12:38.257603+00:00

Notes from 4pm meeting