Project

General

Profile

01062019

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58489 (starting the evening of Jan 6, 2019)

Observers

  • Zhouwen Zh Zhang (Observer 1)
  • Andresa Campos (Observer 2)
  • Alfredo Zenteno (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58490, date 20190106, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:37 CLST     UT 18:37     SidTim 20:58
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:57 CLST  23:57 UT   02:18   34 deg  
Moonset    21:23 CLST  00:23 UT   02:45   41 deg  
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   02:59   45 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   22:00 CLST  01:00 UT   03:21   50 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:23 CLST  01:23 UT   03:45   56 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:49 CLST  04:49 UT   07:11  108 deg  
Morn -18   05:15 CLST  08:15 UT   10:36  159 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:38 CLST  08:38 UT   11:00  165 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:01 CLST  09:01 UT   11:23  171 deg  
Sunrise    06:41 CLST  09:41 UT   12:03  181 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 301.0, Dec -19.9 Phase: 0.056

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan

  • DES Half night
  • Evening standards
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Start with Alhambra Deep 2 in g, r, if seeing < 1.2" then switch to Alhambra Deep 2 in i,z until airmass gets to 1.5 (~02:45 UT).
  • Obstac until the first z-band of the southern sliver appears.
  • Next run a replacement exposure script: Jan05_redo3.json (use if before 3 UT), Jan05_redo4.json (use if after 4 UT)
  • run obstac if there is time left
  • scripts are located at /usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts/
  • One Midpoint standards
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
    MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting