Project

General

Profile

01062018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Darren DePoy (Observer1)
  • Travis Prochaska (Observer2)
  • Jen Marshall (Run Manager)
  • Kathy Vivas (DECal engineering)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera, Jackie Seron - TelOps
  • Javier Rojas - engineering support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58125, date 20180106, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 19:09 CLST     UT 22:09     SidTim 00:32
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:57 CLST  23:57 UT   02:19   35 deg  
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   03:00   45 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   22:00 CLST  01:00 UT   03:22   50 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:23 CLST  01:23 UT   03:46   56 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   00:36 CLST  03:36 UT   05:59   90 deg  
Midpoint   01:49 CLST  04:49 UT   07:12  108 deg  
Morn -18   05:15 CLST  08:15 UT   10:38  160 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:39 CLST  08:39 UT   11:01  165 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:01 CLST  09:01 UT   11:24  171 deg  
Sunrise    06:42 CLST  09:42 UT   12:04  181 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 178.3, Dec 5.3 Phase: 0.625

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: Completely clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: Clear
  • humidity: ~ 60%
  • temp: ~ 12°C
  • wind: 1 mph

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half DECal engineering
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • No low-z SN

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
UT Date = '2018/01/07 00:37'     Local time = 21:37
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 Midpoint standards
UT Date = '2018/01/06 04:49'     Local time = 01:49
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-E1    short    2017-12-30 01:02:30.850734+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-12-30 01:32:07.877484+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-12-30 04:08:35.732679+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-12-31 01:07:29.678521+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-12-31 01:41:39.091440+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-04 01:13:47.956719+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-04 01:26:51.132492+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-04 01:50:49.896521+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-04 02:05:09.632821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-04 02:24:35.274427+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-04 02:44:24.054685+00:00
SN-S1    short    2018-01-05 01:03:30.237750+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2018-01-06 02:23:06.560239+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2018-01-06 02:46:19.736243+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2018-01-06 03:20:36.126637+00:00
SN-C1    short    2018-01-06 04:28:02.317808+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps