Project

General

Profile

01062017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57760 (starting evening of Jan 6, 2017)

Half night

Observers

  • Chihway Chang (Obs 1)
  • Rutuparna Das (Obs 2, RM)
  • Remote support: Marcelle Soares-Santos

CTIO Staff

  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57760, date 20170106, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:45 CLST     UT 18:45     SidTim 21:08
Sunset     20:57 CLST  23:57 UT   SidTim   35 deg  
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   SidTim   45 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   22:00 CLST  01:00 UT   SidTim   51 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:23 CLST  01:23 UT   SidTim   57 deg  Last chance standards

Start midpoint standards at 4:42 UT

Midpoint   01:49 CLST  04:49 UT   SidTim  108 deg  TURNOVER
Moonset    02:31 CLST  05:31 UT   SidTim  119 deg  
Morn -18   05:15 CLST  08:15 UT   SidTim  160 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:39 CLST  08:39 UT   SidTim  166 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:01 CLST  09:01 UT   SidTim  171 deg  
Sunrise    06:42 CLST  09:42 UT   SidTim  182 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 33.4, Dec 9.5 Phase: 0.573

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

* Do first and last standards - skip middle one

  • Evening standards (using calspec): Yzirg
UT Date = '2017/01/07 00:37'     Local time = 21:37
C26202_CCD_52         ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.0
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Do first 2 TOO json files
    • PROPID is 2016B-0124.
  • Run Obstac
    • SN field - E2
  • Tiling catch20170106 - json file for Wide field
  • Run last TOO json file at 3:15 UT
  • Obstac
  • Half Night standards (using calspec) use only 1 (highest airmass): grizY
UT Date = '2017/01/07 4:42'     Local time = 01:42
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.6
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-E2    short    2016-12-30 01:25:03.938219+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2016-12-30 02:04:10.767721+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2016-12-30 02:44:01.809491+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-01-03 01:13:25.617552+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-01-03 01:32:48.579368+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-01-03 01:52:21.713952+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-01-03 02:11:54.862339+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-01-03 02:25:06.638578+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-01-03 02:47:17.842371+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-01-03 03:02:37.573628+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-01-03 03:21:58.724963+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-01-03 03:45:03.581351+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-01-03 04:24:32.965397+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-01-04 01:10:14.231436+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-01-04 02:45:41.910290+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-01-06 01:31:13.849313+00:00

Notes from 4pm meeting

  • No more donuts!
  • Or human sacrifices...
  • Also the Jeopardy! theme song makes everything better __