Project

General

Profile

01052019

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58489 (starting the evening of Jan 5, 2019)

Observers

  • Andresa Campos (Observer 1)
  • Zhouwen Zh Zhang (Observer 2)
  • Alfredo Zenteno (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58489, date 20190105, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:24 CLST     UT 18:24     SidTim 20:42
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   02:14   34 deg  
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   02:55   44 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   22:00 CLST  01:00 UT   03:18   50 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:24 CLST  01:24 UT   03:41   55 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:49 CLST  04:49 UT   07:06  106 deg  
Morn -18   05:14 CLST  08:14 UT   10:31  158 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:37 CLST  08:37 UT   10:55  164 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:00 CLST  09:00 UT   11:18  170 deg  
Sunrise    06:41 CLST  09:41 UT   11:59  180 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 288.4, Dec -20.8 Phase: 0.009

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan

  • DES Half night
  • Evening standards
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Alhambra Deep 2 in i,z until airmass gets to 1.5 (~02:45 UT).
  • Obstac until the first z-band of the southern sliver appears.
  • Next run a replacement exposure script: Jan05_redo.json (~1 hour)
  • if seeing is <1.1" do MACS_Missing_20190105.json (4 exposures)
  • run obstac if there is time left
  • scripts are located at /usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts/
  • One Midpoint standards
    MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting