Project

General

Profile

01052017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57759 (starting evening of Jan 5, 2017)

Half night

Observers

  • Chihway Chang (Obs 1)
  • Rutuparna Das (Obs 2, RM)
  • Remote support: Marcelle Soares-Santos

CTIO Staff

  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57759, date 20170105, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 11:54 CLST     UT 14:54     SidTim 17:14
Sunset     20:57 CLST  23:57 UT   SidTim   34 deg  
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   SidTim   44 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   22:00 CLST  01:00 UT   SidTim   50 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:24 CLST  01:24 UT   SidTim   56 deg  Last chance standards

Start standards at 04:42 UT

Midpoint   01:49 CLST  04:49 UT   SidTim  107 deg  TURNOVER
Moonset    01:50 CLST  04:50 UT   SidTim  108 deg  
Morn -18   05:14 CLST  08:14 UT   SidTim  158 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:38 CLST  08:38 UT   SidTim  164 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:01 CLST  09:01 UT   SidTim  170 deg  
Sunrise    06:41 CLST  09:41 UT   SidTim  180 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 19.9, Dec 5.2 Phase: 0.503

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

* NOT DOING EVENING STANDARDS TODAY

  • Evening standards (using calspec): Yzirg
UT Date = '2017/01/06 00:37'     Local time = 21:37
C26202_CCD_62         ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.0
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Do first TOO json file
    • PROPID is 2016B-0124.
  • Run Obstac to get SN E1 field
  • Run rest of TOO json files
  • Obstac if any time left
  • Half Night standards (using calspec) use only 1 (highest airmass): grizY
UT Date = '2017/01/06 04:42'     Local time = 01:42
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.6
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-E1    short    2016-12-29 01:23:14.323130+00:00
SN-E2    short    2016-12-30 01:25:03.938219+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2016-12-30 02:04:10.767721+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2016-12-30 02:44:01.809491+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-01-03 01:13:25.617552+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-01-03 01:32:48.579368+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-01-03 01:52:21.713952+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-01-03 02:11:54.862339+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-01-03 02:25:06.638578+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-01-03 02:47:17.842371+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-01-03 03:02:37.573628+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-01-03 03:21:58.724963+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-01-03 03:45:03.581351+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-01-03 04:24:32.965397+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-01-04 01:10:14.231436+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-01-04 02:45:41.910290+00:00

Notes from 4pm meeting

  • No standards tonight.
  • We start off with TOO, then fit in SN E1, then back to TOO.
  • Obstac after TOO if there is time.