Project

General

Profile

01042019

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58488 (starting the evening of Jan 4, 2019)

Observers

  • Zhouwen Zh Zhang (Observer 1)
  • Andresa Campos (Observer 2)
  • Alfredo Zenteno (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58488, date 20190104, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 22:01 CLST     UT 01:01     SidTim 03:15
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   02:10   32 deg  
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   02:51   43 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   22:00 CLST  01:00 UT   03:14   48 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:24 CLST  01:24 UT   03:38   54 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:48 CLST  04:48 UT   07:02  106 deg  
Morn -18   05:13 CLST  08:13 UT   10:27  157 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:37 CLST  08:37 UT   10:50  162 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:59 CLST  08:59 UT   11:13  168 deg  
Moonrise   06:24 CLST  09:24 UT   11:38  174 deg  
Sunrise    06:40 CLST  09:40 UT   11:54  178 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 275.5, Dec -20.7 Phase: 0.075

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan

  • DES Half night
  • Evening standards
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Alhambra Deep 2 in r,g until airmass gets to 1.5.
  • Obstac if it's before 3:20UT
  • at 3:20UT do MACSJ0416-u-2 and "MACS_Missing_20190104.json" until it's time to clear queue for SS
  • scripts are located at /usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts/
  • run obstac if there is time left
  • One Midpoint standards
    MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting