Project

General

Profile

01042018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Darren DePoy (Observer1)
  • Travis Prochaska (Observer2)
  • Jen Marshall (Run Manager)
  • Kathy Vivas (DECal engineering)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez, Jackie Seron, Rodrigo Hernandez - TelOps

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58123, date 20180104, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 17:11 CLST     UT 20:11     SidTim 22:26
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   02:11   33 deg  
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   02:52   43 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   22:00 CLST  01:00 UT   03:15   49 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:24 CLST  01:24 UT   03:38   54 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   23:14 CLST  02:14 UT   04:29   67 deg  
Midpoint   01:48 CLST  04:48 UT   07:03  106 deg  
Morn -18   05:13 CLST  08:13 UT   10:28  157 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:37 CLST  08:37 UT   10:52  163 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:00 CLST  09:00 UT   11:14  168 deg  
Sunrise    06:40 CLST  09:40 UT   11:55  179 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 151.2, Dec 13.9 Phase: 0.763

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: Completely clear

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: Clear
  • humidity: ~ 60%
  • temp: ~ 12°C
  • wind: 10 mph

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half DECal engineering
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • No low-z SN

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
UT Date = '2018/01/05 00:37'     Local time = 21:37
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 Midpoint standards
UT Date = '2018/01/05 04:48'     Local time = 01:48
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-S1    short    2017-12-26 01:50:40.364806+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-12-30 01:02:30.850734+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-12-30 01:21:56.466572+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-12-30 01:43:49.731875+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-12-30 02:51:29.039902+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-12-30 03:15:17.771136+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-12-30 03:49:16.501812+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-12-30 04:08:35.732679+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-12-31 01:07:29.678521+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-12-31 01:41:39.091440+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2018-01-04 01:13:47.956719+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2018-01-04 01:26:51.132492+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2018-01-04 01:50:49.896521+00:00
SN-X1    short    2018-01-04 02:05:09.632821+00:00
SN-X2    short    2018-01-04 02:24:35.274427+00:00
SN-S2    short    2018-01-04 02:44:24.054685+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps