Project

General

Profile

01042017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57758 (starting evening of Jan 4, 2017)

Half night

Observers

  • Sahar Allam (Obs 1)
  • Douglas Tucker (Obs 2, RM)
  • Rutu Das
  • Chihway Chang

CTIO Staff

  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57758, date 20170104, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:25 CLST     UT 18:25     SidTim 20:41
Sunset     20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   SidTim   33 deg
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   SidTim   43 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   22:00 CLST  01:00 UT   SidTim   49 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:24 CLST  01:24 UT   SidTim   55 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    01:11 CLST  04:11 UT   SidTim   97 deg

Start standards at 04:41 UT

Midpoint   01:48 CLST  04:48 UT   SidTim  106 deg  TURNOVER
Morn -18   05:13 CLST  08:13 UT   SidTim  157 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:37 CLST  08:37 UT   SidTim  163 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:00 CLST  09:00 UT   SidTim  169 deg
Sunrise    06:40 CLST  09:40 UT   SidTim  179 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 6.8, Dec 0.7 Phase: 0.436

Weather Conditions

  • Magnitude 4.9 earthquake 42 SSW of Coquimbo at 10:24AM local time.
  • Clear in the afternoon. Some very light clouds just over the western horizon.
  • Forecast indicates that some high-level cirrus may be moving in by 10PM local time.
  • Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (using calspec): Yzirg
UT Date = '2017/01/05 00:37'     Local time = 21:37
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
WD0308-565_CCD_35     ra 03:09:48  dec -56:18:49  secz 1.1
  • TOO:
    • Really 1st thing we do at start. Json files to be provided with the name having the time.
    • Regular json files at regular start plus maybe another json.
    • PROPID is 2016B-0124.
  • Obstac: Start after TOO
    • Wide-field: Tile 6 Y-band deferred to tomorrow.
    • SN: E1 in deadman. To be deferred to tomorrow.
  • Half Night standards (using calspec) use only 1 (highest airmass): grizY
UT Date = '2017/01/05 04:48'     Local time = 01:48
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.6
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

(See https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed for database query.)

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-E1    short    2016-12-29 01:23:14.323130+00:00
SN-E2    short    2016-12-30 01:25:03.938219+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2016-12-30 02:04:10.767721+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2016-12-30 02:44:01.809491+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-01-03 01:13:25.617552+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-01-03 01:32:48.579368+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-01-03 01:52:21.713952+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-01-03 02:11:54.862339+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-01-03 02:25:06.638578+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-01-03 02:47:17.842371+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-01-03 03:02:37.573628+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-01-03 03:21:58.724963+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-01-03 03:45:03.581351+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-01-03 04:24:32.965397+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-01-04 01:10:14.231436+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-01-04 02:45:41.910290+00:00

Notes from 4pm meeting

  • TOO observations tonight.
  • Defer SN-E1 and wide-field Tiling 6 Y-band observations to tomorrow.
  • Start ObsTac after completing TOO observations.