Project

General

Profile

01042014 - Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56662 (starting evening of Jan 04, 2014)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
James Etherington Tim Abbott Philip Rooney
ext. 521 ext. 511 ext. 520

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Alberto

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56662, date 20140104, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:36 CLST     UT 15:36     SidTim 17:51
Sunset     20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   SidTim   33 deg  
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   SidTim   43 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   22:00 CLST  01:00 UT   SidTim   48 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:24 CLST  01:24 UT   SidTim   54 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    23:19 CLST  02:19 UT   SidTim   68 deg  
Midpoint   01:48 CLST  04:48 UT   SidTim  106 deg  
Morn -18   05:13 CLST  08:13 UT   SidTim  157 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:37 CLST  08:37 UT   SidTim  163 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:00 CLST  09:00 UT   SidTim  168 deg  
Sunrise    06:40 CLST  09:40 UT   SidTim  179 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 336.6, Dec -4.4 Phase: 0.267

Weather Conditions

Conditions look good at the moment for tonight. No clouds overhead here.
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. End of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json
  1. Will fill in below after midday

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/05 00:37' Local time = 21:37
SDSSJ0000-0000 ra 00:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.6 DES_std_SDSSJ0000_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_SDSSJ0320_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/05 08:37' Local time = 05:37
SDSSJ0843-0000 ra 08:43:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 DES_std_sdssj0843_grizY.json
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj1048_grizY.json