Project

General

Profile

01032018

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Darren DePoy (Observer1)
  • Travis Prochaska (Observer2)
  • Jen Marshall (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez, Jackie Seron, Rodrigo Hernandez - TelOps

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58122, date 20180103, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:31 CLST     UT 18:31     SidTim 20:42
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   02:07   32 deg  
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   02:48   42 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   22:00 CLST  01:00 UT   03:11   48 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:24 CLST  01:24 UT   03:35   54 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   22:25 CLST  01:25 UT   03:36   54 deg  
Midpoint   01:48 CLST  04:48 UT   06:59  105 deg  
Morn -18   05:12 CLST  08:12 UT   10:23  156 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:36 CLST  08:36 UT   10:47  162 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:59 CLST  08:59 UT   11:10  168 deg  
Sunrise    06:39 CLST  09:39 UT   11:50  178 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 136.2, Dec 17.4 Phase: 0.840

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: Clouds around horizon, none overhead

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: Clear
  • humidity: ~ 38%
  • temp: ~ 18.7°C
  • wind: 15.7 mph

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • First half DES, second half DECal engineering
  • Evening standards (Yzirg)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
UT Date = '2018/01/04 01:00'     Local time = 22:00
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 Midpoint standards
UT Date = '2018/01/04 04:48'     Local time = 01:48
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-X3    long_r    2017-12-25 01:24:03.051975+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-12-25 01:47:06.535815+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-12-25 04:19:32.694391+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-12-26 01:11:15.363099+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-12-26 01:30:49.951162+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-12-26 01:50:40.364806+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-12-26 02:10:11.560139+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-12-30 01:02:30.850734+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-12-30 01:21:56.466572+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-12-30 01:43:49.731875+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-12-30 02:51:29.039902+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-12-30 03:15:17.771136+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-12-30 03:49:16.501812+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-12-30 04:08:35.732679+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-12-31 01:07:29.678521+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-12-31 01:41:39.091440+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps