Project

General

Profile

01012014 - Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56659 (starting evening of Jan 01, 2014)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
James Etherington Ting Li Philip Rooney
ext. 521 ext. 512 ext. 520

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Hernan Manuel

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56659, date 20140101, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:17 CLST     UT 15:17     SidTim 17:20
Sunset     20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   SidTim   30 deg  
Moonset    20:57 CLST  23:57 UT   SidTim   30 deg  
Eve. -10   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   SidTim   40 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:59 CLST  00:59 UT   SidTim   46 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:24 CLST  01:24 UT   SidTim   52 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:47 CLST  04:47 UT   SidTim  102 deg  
Morn -18   05:10 CLST  08:10 UT   SidTim  153 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:34 CLST  08:34 UT   SidTim  159 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:57 CLST  08:57 UT   SidTim  165 deg  
Sunrise    06:38 CLST  09:38 UT   SidTim  175 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 292.9, Dec -16.0 Phase: 0.036

Weather Conditions

Conditions look good at the moment for tonight. No clouds overhead here.
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. End of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json
  1. Will fill in below after midday

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/02 00:37' Local time = 21:37
SDSSJ2300-0000 ra 23:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.0 DES_std_SDSSJ2300_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0000-0000 ra 00:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.5 DES_std_SDSSJ0000_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_SDSSJ0200_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/02 08:34' Local time = 05:34
SDSSJ0843-0000 ra 12:27:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.3 DES_std_sdssj0843_grizY.json
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj1048_grizY.json